raising the bar

Confessions of a First Class LLB Graduate

2012 in review and 2013 in advance

Leave a comment


On the last day of 2012, I can only think of how amazing 2012 was! Makes me sad, in a way, that it’s over… Yet I can’t help but look forward to 2013 as I’m sure it will be even more awesome!
2012-13

2012 in review

The past year for me was a year of learning and growing up. Being now officially an adult, I had to make a plan for my life. A plan for personal and professional growth. In 2012 I took the first steps.

I had a couple of small failures too, but they are the ones that helped me learn the most. They say you never come to appreciate success until you fail once. It was kind of like that for me. And since this is a blog of confessions, I might as well tell you what my failures were.

I failed to secure a training contract. Maybe I didn’t try hard enough. Maybe I was too confident with myself. And if you know me, you’d think neither of these sound quite like me. And maybe you’re right. To tell you the truth, 2012 was the year when I came to realise what I want to do in life. Before I didn’t quite want to be a lawyer. I wanted to do a masters and go into politics. Now I laugh at myself thinking back of how silly I was.

It took me some good few months of assisting at a law firm to realise that law is meant for me. No matter how boring it may sound to some of you, I can’t help but love the way law challenges and stimulates my mind. And I know there are some nasty jokes about lawyers out there, but deep down inside me I can’t help but think I can be damn good at that.

So never mind I didn’t get a training contract in 2012. I am not disappointed with myself. To the contrary, I think I learned a good lesson. And 2013 will be about putting into practice that which I’ve learned in 2012.

I also failed to get a driving license. Now, I know that can’t quite compare to the other one, but it was still somewhat disappointing, not least the fourth time I failed. Funnily enough I passed the theory test with flying colours months ago. It was the practical one that tripped me over. Considering how tough it seems to pass, I wonder how there are so many accidents on the roads out there. Never mind, yet another thing on to my 2013 list.

Reading to here you probably think to yourself that I am mad to say 2012 has been amazing? Well, maybe I am, but for different reasons. There are a lot of things that I love about 2012, despite the small failures. I love the people I’ve come to meet and build a relationship with. I love the lessons I’ve learned. I love the fact that I’ve grown. And I’ve grown up. I love the fact that I’ve made a plan for my life. I love the fact that I have stuck to it to date. I love the fact that I have built a professional profile for myself. And I have stuck to that one too. I love the person I’ve grown to be, the confidence I’ve built. I love the new me and I love my life.

2013 in advance

Now I am not going to say too much about 2013 here. I’ll just say that it will be the year of achieving everything that I’ve started in 2012. And growing some more.

And what are my wishes for 2013 you may wonder? I just want to keep the amazing people I’ve met in my life. And meet some more quality people. Everything else I have planned will come with hard work. Most of my life to date has been about hard work. 2013 will be about bearing the fruit. I will keep you posted as I go.

And until then, I would like to wish you all a Happy and Prosperous New Year! Do all the things that make you feel good! Create the life of your dreams! Love your life and most importantly love yourselves! Allow the universe to give you every good thing that you deserve by being a magnet to them all! I believe in the law of attraction. I believe that when we think about good things, when we genuinely want good things, then good things happen. It’s just that simple. Sometimes.

Lawfully yours,

Val

Author: Valya Georgieva

A recent first class LLB (Hons) graduate from the University of Portsmouth with over 2 years' experience in supporting the Litigation Department of a leading regional law firm. Currently leveraging social media in search for a training contract with a medium to large corporate/commercial practice. Part time LPC student at the University of Law, Guildford.

Leave a Lawesome Reply

