raising the bar

Confessions of a First Class LLB Graduate

Bright Light at the End of the Tunnel

Leave a comment


My lovely readers,

I started this blog as a diary of my journey as a final year law student. For those of you who have stumbled upon my posts before, you may have noticed that my blog headline has slightly changed from ‘Confessions of a Final Year Law Student’ to ‘Confessions of a First Class LLB Graduate’. That’s right! I did it!! I got me my First Class Degree!

Looking back through the past few months, or in fact ever since I started my final year, two things spring to mind:

1) It sure seemed challenging and unbearable at the time. To a point where I wanted to break away from it all BUT

2) In a little bit of perspective, it was one truly tremendous year.

For what is worth, it did prove one thing, something which you may have come across a lot in my posts recently – Hard work pays off. 

This year was all part of a little experiment with myself – it involved pushing my limits to the max and hoping for the best. It worked!!

I must admit that I had some really tough last couple of months, particularly revision and exams (those who had to be around me could testify for it! to them I sincerely apologise!). BUT I managed to nail all of my exams. My secret? A hint of strong nerves, a pack of chocolate coated coffee beans per day. Of course, that was coupled with my usual daily dose of caffeine and sugar. I must admit, my head was buzzing. My real saviour however was my revision board. And my motivation.

If you ask me what my top tips for revision were, I’d say the following five:

1) Concentrate: Make sure to go over the last revision lectures and concentrate on what is important without spending too much time going over minor points. Do not revise everything, BUT make sure you don’t limit your revision too much either;

2) Drink a lot of water: I had to remind this to myself a lot. The brain needs water. Especially after all the caffeine you’d have had by that pont!

3) Do not panic: I know this is easier said than done, but both your memory during revision and your performance on the day of the exam make a lot of difference if you are calm;

4) Practise your answers: Time on the exam is limited and a lot of my peers were let down by the speed of their handwriting. It makes a big difference to planning your answer if you know how much you could write in, say, an hour;

5) Repetition: Make sure you leave yourself enough time to go over your revision notes. If you have visual memory, all the better – you could use highlighting system to remember case names.

The exact approach you take to your revision depends on what works best for you. Most importantly, however, make sure you don’t lose your motivation!

And if you ask me what tip I could give for succeeding in your final year, it would be Persistence, Motivation and Hard workAt least that is what worked for me.

I have now opened a new page in my book of life: the life of a recent law graduate, starting full-time employment in July and starting part-time LPC in September. Whether my future journey would be of interest to you, I intend to keep you posted of my endeavours and I expect to face even tougher challenges than I have so far. By far the biggest to overcome would be securing a training contract.

BUT on the positive side of things, I now have a proof that hard work pays off. For real! You only need to believe …

And until you see it for yourself…

Do all the things that make you feel good! Create the life of your dreams! Allow the universe to give you every good thing that you deserve by being a magnet to them all! I believe in the law of attraction. I believe that when we think about good things, when we genuinely want good things, then good things happen. And even if we feel like we are stuck in a tunnel, there is a bright light waiting just round the corner. All you need is some strength and motivation to reach it. It’s just that simple. Sometimes.

Lawfully yours

Val

Author: Valya Georgieva

A recent first class LLB (Hons) graduate from the University of Portsmouth with over 2 years' experience in supporting the Litigation Department of a leading regional law firm. Currently leveraging social media in search for a training contract with a medium to large corporate/commercial practice. Part time LPC student at the University of Law, Guildford.

Leave a Lawesome Reply